The Badge issuer (the community) can revoke the Badges issued to its members. Revocation renders the Badge expired but does not burn it. This allows Badge holders to continue to display Badges from past roles or achievements even while those Badges no longer grant any powers or permissions.
What does revoking a Badge do?
Revoking a Badge causes it to be expired, in the same way that a Badge may be expired by passing the expiry date.
Integrations built with Otterspace, such as Snapshot and Guild, ignore expired Badges when granting powers and permissions like governance and access.
Who can revoke a Badge?
The wallet holding the community’s Raft Token is able to revoke Badges.
How to revoke a Badge
Currently, revocation is possible via contract interaction. In the future, it will be possible to revoke Badges from within the Otterspace App.
Step 2 - connect the wallet holding your community Raft Token
Step 3 - write function revokeBadge
To revoke a Badge, you need to enter three pieces of information